Nyimba MP Folly Tembo and his Kapoche counterpart, Nicholas Banda defends their decision over Rupiah Banda’s immunity.

Nyimba Member of Parliament Folly Tembo and his Kapoche counterpart, Nicholas Banda says they voted in favour of the motion to lift former Republican President, Rupiah Banda’s immunity because they are working for the government.
Mr. Tembo who is Local Government and Housing Deputy Minister and Mr. Banda who is Agriculture and Livestock Deputy Minister, says that there was no way they would have voted against the motion.
They alleged that there is a rule in parliament called the three line rule, which commands every MP to support the motion tabled by parliament.
And Mr. Tembo, who has been accused of being a traitor by the MMD in Eastern Province, says he is ready for any action that will be taken by his party while Mr. Banda refused to comment on the matter.
Mr. Banda stated that he has not received any official letter from his party that he will be disciplined.
The MMD in Eastern Province have threatened to discipline the three Members of Parliament who voted for the motion to lift Rupiah Banda’s immunity.
These are Nyimba Member of Parliament, Folly Tembo, Kapoche Member of Parliament, Nicholas Banda and Mkaika Member of Parliament, David Phiri.
Efforts to get a comment from Mkaika Member of Parliament, David Phiri proved futile by News time.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *