Six candidates to compete for Chipata Central parliamentary seat.

Six candidates will compete for the Chipata Central parliamentary seat on August 11.

This is after they successfully filed in their nomination papers at Chipata Municipal Council Camber yesterday.

The MMD is fielding former area MP, Rueben M’tolo Phiri while the FDD, will be represented by their National Chairperson, Potipher Mumamba Chungu.

A Chipata based businessman, Nedson Undi is standing on UPND ticket while a small scale entrepreneur, Dorcas Nachangwe will represent the Rainbow Party.

The PF, Patriotic Front party has Moses Mawere a businessman while UNIP, will field a 27 year old student teacher, Whiteson Lungu.

The successful candidates have all expressed confidence that they will win the Chipata Central parliamentary seat and work hard to help develop Chipata.

Chipata Central Constituency Returning Officer, Samuel Phiri, who announced the successful candidates yesterday, advised the candidates to abide by the electoral code of conduct.

Mr. Phiri says the National Assembly nomination exercise in Chipata Central did not have any rejected nomination papers from any aspiring candidates.

Meanwhile Moses Moyo for UPND, Charles Zulu for PF, Angela Chifire for MMD and Yosi Miti who is independent are the four candidates contesting the Luangeni parliamentary seat.

And four candidates will contest the Chipangali parliamentary seat on August 11.

These are Ezara Banda for MMD, Champion Tembo for UPND, Harrison Phiri for Rainbow Party and Vincent Mwale for the ruling PF.

Returning Officer Arthur Banda announced at 16:20 hours that only four out of the twelve candidates on the list had successfully filed their nominations.

Andrew Phiri of FDD attempted to file but could not pay the nomination fee, saying it was paid by the party in Lusaka.

And six candidates will contest the Chadiza parliamentary seat.

These are Allan Mbewe for MMD, Samson Thole for UPND and Moses Tembo for PF.

Others are Asarf Daka for FDD and two independent candidates, Ziwani Banda and Yamikani Phiri.

And Petauke Central Constituency also has six candidates who will compete for the parliamentary seat.

These are Ignitius Phiri for UNIP, Abel Phiri for FDD, Dora Siliya for PF,  Mike Tembo for UPND, Josab Changa for United Democratic Front and Emmanuel Banda, who is contesting on independent ticket.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *